Penderyn Welsh Single Malt Whisky

At the dawn of the new millennium, a group of friends from the beautiful country of Wales set out with a simple vision. As the first Welsh distillers in more than a century, they were determined to break with convention and pledge to realize their dream.

The Faraday Still

The whisky still at Penderyn is unlike any other: a single copper pot still producing a flavorful spirit of extraordinary strength and purity. This still was invented exclusively for us by Dr David Faraday, descendent of the ground-breaking Victorian scientist, Michael Faraday.

At 92% alcohol by volume the new spirit has the highest strength of any malt Whisky; and with just one barrel produced every day, it is also exceptionally rare.

The Art of Maturation

The Penderyn house style derives uniquely from the use of two types of cask. After an initial maturation in hand-selected bourbon barrels from a single source, the Whisky is further matured in special Madeira barriques.

Fresh and Vibrant

Art and science come together at the moment when our talented young distillers, decree that a cask is ready to be bottled. Thanks to the quality of the wood, the delicate spirit rapidly develops a sophistication normally confined to much older whiskies, but to retain its freshness and vibrancy we take care not to over-mature. Reducing the strength drop by drop with our very own Brecon spring water, we bottle Penderyn Whisky without chill-filtration.

The Distillery

At Penderyn just one cask is produced per day of the finest malted barley spirit, which, when matured, is recognized worldwide as one of the finest malt whiskies. The majority of the spirit goes into cask for ageing in Penderyn’s cellars. Minute quantities are diverted to craft other award-winning products.

All exceptional whiskies bring together the crucial ingredients: the still, the wood and the water. If you take the time to read on about Penderyn’s products and process you will discover why, like Welsh gold, Penderyn Single Malt Whisky is so rare that it has to be on strict allocation to markets outside Wales. It is one of the rarest, finest and most delicate malt whiskies available.

From the time when the cooper goes into the sustainable American white oak forests to hand select trees from which our barrels are made through to the bottling line at the distillery where dedicated staff hand polish every bottle as they come off the line, the commitment to quality is uncompromising.


Penderyn Five Vodka

Merlyn Welsh Whisky Cream Liqueur

Category
Whisky

Penderyn Welsh Single Malt Whisky

Au début du nouveau millénaire, un groupe d’amis du Pays de Galles a commencé à mettre en œuvre une vision : ils souhaitaient rompre les conventions, réaliser leurs rêves et ériger la première distillerie depuis cent ans au Pays de Galles.

L’alambic Faraday

L’alambic pour whisky de Penderyn n’a rien en commun avec d’autres alambics ; une unique cuve en cuivre produit un esprit généreux d’une force et d’une pureté exceptionnelles. Le concept a été inventé en exclusivité pour Penderyn par Dr David Faraday, descendant du scientifique pionnier victorien Michael Faraday.

Avec 92 % vol., le distillat tout frais est plus fort que n’importe quel autre whisky de malt et de plus, avec un fût produit par jour, exceptionnellement rare.

L’art de la maturation

Le style de la maison Penderyn repose sans ambiguïté sur l’utilisation de deux types de fûts. Après une première maturation dans des fûts de bourbon travaillés à la main, le whisky achève son processus de maturation dans des fûts de madère spéciaux.

Frais et vivant

L’interaction de l’artisanat et de la science paraît au grand jour lorsque les fûts sont prêts pour l’embouteillage. Grâce à la très grande qualité du bois, le subtile alcool développe rapidement un raffinement que seuls les whiskys plus anciens connaissent. Dans le même temps, il conserve sa fraîcheur et son caractère vivant et tout est mis en œuvre pour éviter un phénomène de surmaturité. Le whisky est amené goutte à goutte au degré de consommation avec la propre eau de source de Brecon puis mis en bouteille sans filtration à froid.

La distillerie

Chez Penderyn, seul un fût de whisky est produit par jour à partir du meilleur malt et, une fois arrivé à maturité, il est reconnu dans le monde entier comme l’un des plus savoureux whiskys de malt. La plus grande partie du nouveau distillat est acheminée dans des fûts pour sa maturation. De plus petites quantités sont utilisées pour la fabrication d’autres produits artisanaux.

L’engagement qualité sans compromis vaut dès l’instant où le tonnelier choisit dans la forêt le chêne banc d’Amérique exploité durablement pour les fûts, jusqu’au moment où le whisky arrive sur le système d’embouteillage et où des collaborateurs engagés polissent chaque bouteille à la main.

Les whiskys

Outre le style de la maison, le Madeira Finish, d’autres spécialités voient également le jour. Le Sherrywood Finish en ex-fûts d’Oloroso, l’Islay Finish en ex-fûts d’Islay et le Portwood Finish en ex-fûts de Porto. À quoi vient s’ajouter chaque année un embouteillage de la série « The Icons of Wales ». Les icônes reposent sur des personnalités et événements marquants de l’histoire du Pays de Galles et doit comporter au final 50 éditions différentes.

Une autre spécialité est la Merlyn Cream Liqueur fabriquée à partir de distillat nouveau de Penderyn et de crème.


Penderyn Five Vodka

Merlyn Welsh Whisky Cream Liqueur

Categorie
Whisky
X