Henriques & Henriques Madeira

Once owned by the portuguese royal family, today the company of Henriques & Henriques belongs to John Cossart. His father had been steward and cellarman for 53 years and became majority owner after the last of the original Henriqes died in 1978 without issue. With 15 hectares of property Henriques & Henriques is the biggest grape producer of the island of Madeira.

Madeira is probably the most durable wine in the world and is usually marketed without vintage label. The finest qualities mature in wooden casks for ten years or more before they are sold. The label “Denominação de Origem Controlada” denotes a quality wine of a certain growing area. Verdelho is a kind of grape grown only in very small quantities. It also denotes a kind of Madeira that is somewhat fuller and of a semi-dry sweetness.

Compared to Porto and Sherry, the 2100 hectares of vineyard on this extremely steep island are very few. The grapes of Madeira are grown between 300 and 500 meters above sea level on narrow, steplike terraces hewn from the red and grey basalt rock.

Category
Fortified Wine
X

Henriques & Henriques Madeira

Einst im Besitz des portugiesischen Königshauses gehört die alte Firma Henriques & Henriques heute dem Briten John Cossart. Sein Vater war 53 Jahre lang Verwalter und Kellermeister des Unternehmens gewesen und wurde 1978, nachdem der letzte Henriques ohne Nachfolger verstorben war, Mehrheitsbesitzer. Mit 15 Hektar Eigenbesitz ist Henriques & Henriques der grösste Weintraubenproduzent der Insel Madeira.

Madeira ist der wohl langlebigste Wein der Welt und wird in der Regel ohne Jahrgang vermarktet. Die feinsten Qualitäten reifen zehn Jahre und länger im Holzfass, ehe sie in den Verkehr gelangen. Die “Denominação de Origem Controlada” entspricht einem Qualitätswein bestimmter Anbaugebiete. Verdelho ist eine in nur geringen Mengen angebaute Rebsorte. Er steht gleichzeitig als Bezeichnung für einen Stil von Madeira, der etwas fülliger mit halbtrockener Süsse auftritt.

Die etwa 2100 Hektar Weingärten der extrem steilen Insel sind, verglichen mit Porto oder Sherry, verschwindend wenig. Die Reben Madeiras werden zwischen 300 und 500 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel auf schmalen, stufenartigen Terrassen gezogen, die aus roten oder grauem Basaltfelsen herausgehauen sind.

Kategorie
Südweine
X