Weingut Kollwentz Burgenland Austria

Kollwentz Winery – Römerhof
Grosshöflein, Burgenland

A Vintner Dynasty

When a vineyard, such as the Kollwentz winery in Grosshöflein, has been in the family since 1775, the designation ‘dynasty’ seems appropriate. The location on the south facing slopes of the Leitha Mountains is one of the best and oldest in the country. Resounding names like Steinzeiler, Point, Dürr, Tatschler, Gloria, and Setz were mentioned as vineyard sites as early as the years 1569 and 1570. Here, the Kollwentz family maintains the vineyard concept in its purest form: their own vineyards, their own grapes, and their own wine.

Vineyards on the south facing slopes of the Leitha Mountains have been in operation since Celtic times, and they contain the earliest evidence of viniculture in central Europe. Grape seeds found in Zagersdorf have been dated to 700 B.C.

Andi Kollwentz – a decathlete among Austria’s vintners

Beginning with the 1993 vintage, Andi Kollwentz has taken over responsibilities of the cellar. Since 2004, Andi and Heidi Kollwentz are in charge of the operation of the winery.

“The location determines the type of vine” is Andi Kollwentz’s doctrine. Only under ideal conditions can vines produce grapes that reach optimal maturity – which is the basis for great wines.

Peter Moser of Falstaff Magazine adds: “Andi Kollwentz is a decathlete among Austria’s vintners because he has mastered a broad range of disciplines and ranks among the top vintners in every wine category, whether white, red, or sweet.”

White Wines

At the Kollwentz winery, the Chardonnay grape vine is the most prevalent among the white varieties. Its cultivation was predestined by nature with a broad selection of soils and locations: Tatschler, Gloria, Neusatz, Kreuzweingärten, Perisch, and Torwartl.

Chardonnay is a venerable variety that has been cultivated in the area around Lake Neusiedl for more than 100 years. Locations around the world that produce the best Chardonnay wines have one feature in common: limestone. The Leitha Mountains are thus part of an illustrious group of wine regions that includes the Champagne, the Chablis, and the Côte d‘Or (Burgundy).

Tatschler

The first documented mention of the Tatschler vineyard dates from 1570. Cultivated on the southeastern, wind-protected slopes of the Leitha Mountains, the Chardonnay ripens to the highest quality on weathered limestone and slate soils. Fermented and aged in small oak barrels, the wine is captivating with its full aroma of fruit, its robust flavor, and elegance. Chardonnay Tatschler is a sophisticated and versatile accompaniment to a variety of dishes. It is best paired with seafood or shellfish, pasta, and white meat.

Gloria

First records of the Gloria vineyard, the highest elevation vineyard of the Leitha Mountains, date from 1570. The cooler temperatures of the bordering forest and the meager quality of the shell limestone soil result in a slower and longer ripening process of the grapes. A distinct mineral quality and finesse characterize this wine. Chardonnay Gloria goes well with seafood and shellfish, as well as pasta dishes.

Chardonnay Leitha Mountains / from the vineyards

Since time immemorial, Burgenland has been the home of Chardonnay, also known as Klevner. The best wines are produced from soils rich in limestone, and these can be found in the Leitha Mountains. Combined with the Pannonian climate, the region produces a full-bodied, elegant wine with a delicate hint of spice. The Chardonnay is ideally paired with shellfish, fish, and white meat.

Steinmühle (Stone Mill) Sauvignon blanc

Sauvignon blanc is a venerable variety in Burgenland. It is considered to be the most challenging grape vine in general, and is particularly sensitive to location. It does best in igneous rock soils like flint/silex, and these can be found in the Steinmühle vineyard site. The soil, in combination with the Pannonian climate of Burgenland, produces expressive and striking wines. Only a handful of our own grape vines are used to propagate the Sauvignon blanc to ensure its high quality and unadulterated character. The full aroma of this Sauvignon ranges from bell peppers, over elderberry blossoms, to passion fruit. It is best paired with seafood dishes, asparagus, and white meat.

Red Wines

True to tradition, Blaufränkisch and Zweigelt dominate the cultivation of red wine in Burgenland. At the Kollwentz winery, the venerable variety, Blaufränkisch, grows in the historic vineyard sites of ‘Point’ and ‘Setz’. They are bottled as single vineyard wines, and, due to their robust flavors and spiciness, also form the backbone of the top cuvée ‘Steinzeiler’. Wine pioneer Anton Kollwentz was instrumental in the propagation of Zweigelt in Burgenland, and was the first vintner to cultivate Cabernet Sauvignon in Austria.

Steinzeiler

Steinzeiler was named after the rocky, limestone-rich soils of the southern slopes of the Leitha Mountains. Grape vines have been growing in these locations for 2800 years. Steinzeiler –vinified from 60 – 80 % Blaufränkisch from the vineyard sites of Point and Setz, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Zweigelt – is a robust red wine with elegance and charm from meticulously maintained, old grape vines. Steinzeiler is the perfect accompaniment to wild game, dark meat, and cheese. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Point

1570 marks the first recorded mention of the vineyard, Point. The Kollwentz family has owned this parcel of the former estate of the Hungarian noble family, Esterházy, since 1848.

Directly south facing slopes, coupled with calcareous loamy soils, produce a small harvest of Blaufränkisch that is full of character and rich in extracts year after year. This special Blaufränkisch is captivating through its wonderful blackberry fruit aroma and robust spiciness. It is the universal accompaniment to pâtés and meat dishes. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Setz

The vineyard site, ‘Krapflried’ which had its first entry in manuscripts dated from 1570, is commonly referred to as ‘Setz’. Stretching into the direction of Kleinhöflein, it borders the vineyards of Grosshöflein. In light of its southeastern facing slopes, the vineyard enjoys full sun from early morning until late afternoon. In the ‘Setz’ vineyard, Blaufränkisch grapes attain optimal ripeness. This special Blaufränkisch of the Kollwentz estate impresses with its fine cherry and licorice aroma, as well as its robust spice tones. It is best paired with grilled meats. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Dürr

The first documented mention of the ‘Dürr’ vineyard site also dates back to 1570. Given the elevation of the vineyard and the cooler temperatures generated by the surrounding forest, Pinot Noir grapes cultivated here reach their maturity through a slow ripening process. A distinct mineral quality and finesse characterize this Pinot grown in shell limestone soil.

Cabernet Sauvignon

Cabernet Sauvignon is the most widely distributed grape vine for red wine in the world. The Pannonian climate of the Burgenland ensures that it attains the highest quality. With a yield of approximately 30 hectoliters per hectare, the result is an elegant wine rich in extract. The wine is aged in small oak barrels and attains its optimal drinkability after five to seven years. This Cabernet develops an impressive bouquet of cassis with a soft hint of vanilla. Cabernet Sauvignon is the perfect accompaniment to wild game, beef, and cheese. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Eichkogel

Eichkogel is a cuvée made from the traditional Grosshöflein varieties of Blaufränkisch (70%) and Zweigelt (30%). In the Pannonian climate of the Burgenland, the grapes on the south facing slopes of the Leitha Mountains ripen to the highest degree and quality. Matured in small oak barrels, the Eichkogel combines the spicy berry aroma of the Blaufränkisch with the velvety smoothness of the Zweigelt. Eichkogel is an excellent choice for flavorful meat dishes like lamb or steaks. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Blaufränkisch Leitha Mountains

Blaufränkisch is the celebrated grape vine for the red wine of Burgenland. Grown in the Pannonian climate and in limestone-containing loamy soils of the Leitha Mountains, the Blaufränkisch attains the highest quality. After it has been aged in oak barrels, it is bottled unfiltered. This Blaufränkisch has a captivating aroma of berry and elegant spice.

Zweigelt Föllikberg

Zweigelt is a hybrid of Blaufränkisch and St. Laurent. It was first cultivated in 1922 by its namesake, Professor Zweigelt. On account of its high quality, Zweigelt is the only new variety that has been able to secure its place among Austria’s vine specialties. With its elegant character and sour cherry aroma, Zweigelt can be enjoyed as early as the year following harvest. It is ideally paired with grilled dishes, pork, and lamb.

Category
Wine

Weingut Kollwentz Burgenland Österreich

Weingut Kollwentz – Römerhof
Grosshöflein, Burgenland

Eine Winzerdynastie

Wenn sich ein Weingut wie das der Familie Kollwentz in Grosshöflein bereits seit 1775 in Familienbesitz befindet, ist die Bezeichnung Dynastie kein zu grosses Wort. Die Lagen am Südhang des Leithagebirges zählen zu den ältesten und besten des Landes. Klingende Namen wie Steinzeiler, Point, Dürr, Tatschler, Gloria und Setz wurden bereits in den Jahren 1569 und 1570 als Weingärten erwähnt. Die Familie Kollwentz pflegt hier den Weingutsgedanken in seiner reinsten Form: eigene Weinberge, eigene Trauben, eigener Wein.

Weinbau wird an den Südhängen des Leithagebirges bereits seit den Kelten betrieben. Von ihnen stammen die ältesten Funde von Weinbau in Mitteleuropa. Die Rebkernfunde von Zagersdorf datieren 700 v. Chr.

Andi Kollwentz – der Zehnkämpfer unter Österreichs Winzern

Mit dem Jahrgang 1993 übernimmt Andi Kollwentz die Verantwortung im Keller. Seit 2004 leiten Andi und Heidi Kollwentz die Geschicke des Weinguts.

„Die Lage bestimmt die Wahl der Rebe“ ist das Credo von Andi Kollwentz. Unter so idealen Bedingungen schaffen es die Reben, Trauben von optimaler Reife hervorzubringen – die Basis für grosse Weine.

Peter Moser vom Falststaff-Magazin konstatiert dazu: „Andi Kollwentz ist der Zehnkämpfer unter Österreichs Winzern, denn er versteht sich auf die unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen und ist in jeder Kategorie, ob Weiss, Rot oder Süss, im Spitzenfeld zu finden“.

Die Weissweine

Bei den weissen Sorten im Weingut Kollwentz dominiert naturgemäss die Chardonnay-Rebe. Eine Vielzahl von Böden und Lagen ist für ihren Anbau prädestiniert – Tatschler, Gloria, Neusatz, Kreuzweingärten, Perisch und Torwartl.

Der Chardonnay ist eine alte Rebe die seit mehr als 100 Jahren im Gebiet rund um den Neusiedlersee angebaut wird. Überall auf der Welt wo die Chardonnay-Rebe beste Weine liefert findet man Kalk. Damit findet sich das Leithagebirge in einer illustren Runde mit der Champagne, dem Chablis und der Côte d‘Or (Burgund) wieder.

Tatschler

1570 erfolgte die erste urkundliche Erwähnung der Riede Tatschler. In dieser windgeschützten Südostlage am Leithagebirge, reift der Chardonnay auf kalkhaltigem Schieferverwitterungsboden zu höchster Qualität. In kleinen Eichenfässern vergoren und ausgebaut besticht er durch vollreife Fruchtaromen, Kraft und Eleganz. Der Chardonnay Tatschler ist ein vornehmer, vielseitiger Speisenbegleiter, der zu Meeres- und Krustentieren, zu Nudelgerichten und hellem Fleisch bestens harmoniert.

Gloria

1570 erfolgte die erste urkundliche Erwähnung der Riede Gloria, der höchstgelegenen Weinberglage des Leithagebirges. Durch die Kühle des angrenzenden Waldes gelangt dieser Chardonnay auf kargem Muschelkalkboden langsam zu voller Reife. Ausgeprägte Mineralität und Finesse prägen den Charakter dieses Weines. Der Chardonnay Gloria ist der ideale Begleiter zu Meeres- und Krustentieren, sowie zu Nudelgerichten und Pasta.

Chardonnay Leithagebirge / Von den Rieden

Der Chardonnay ist seit jeher als Klevner im Burgenland beheimatet. Weltweit erbringt er auf Kalkböden die besten Weine. Diese Kalkböden findet er am Leithagebirge. Im Zusammenspiel mit dem pannonischen Klima entsteht ein vollmundiger eleganter Wein mit zarter Würze. Der Chardonnay ist der ideale Begleiter zu Krustentieren, Fisch und hellem Fleisch.

Steinmühle Sauvignon blanc

Der Sauvignon blanc ist eine alte Sorte im Burgenland. Im Weingarten ist er die schwierigste Rebsorte überhaupt. Er stellt besondere Ansprüche an seinen Standort. Auf kargen Feuersteinböden – Flint, Silex – gedeiht er hervorragend. Diesen Boden findet er auf der Steinmühle und bringt hier im Zusammenspiel mit dem pannonischen Klima des Burgenlandes ausdrucksstarke, markante Weine hervor. Der Sauvignon blanc wird nur von einer Handvoll eigener Reben weiter vermehrt, um seine hohe Qualität unverfälscht zu sichern. Die Aromenfülle dieses Sauvignons reicht von Paprikaschoten über Holunderblüten bis hin zu Maracuja. Er harmoniert ideal mit Fischgerichten, Spargel und hellem Fleisch.

Die Rotweine

Traditionsgemäss dominieren Blaufränkisch und Zweigelt den Rotweinanbau im Burgenland. Die alte Rebsorte Blaufränkisch steht im Weingut Kollwentz in den historischen Rieden „Point“ und „Setz“. Sie werden einerseits als Lagenweine auf die Flasche gefüllt und bilden mit ihrer Kraft und Würze auch das Rückgrat der Spitzencuvée „Steinzeiler“. Weinpionier Anton Kollwentz war bei der Verbreitung des Zweigelt im Burgenland federführend und er war der erste, der Cabernet Sauvignon in Österrreich kultivierte.

Steinzeiler

Der Steinzeiler hat seinen Namen von den steinigen, kalkhaltigen Böden an den Südhängen des Leithagebirges. In diesen Lagen wachsen Reben seit 2800 Jahren. Der Steinzeiler – aus 60 – 80 % Blaufränkisch der Rieden Point und Setz, Cabernet Sauvignon und Zweigelt gekeltert – ist ein kraftvoller Rotwein mit Eleganz und Charme aus liebevoll gepflegten alten Reben. Der Steinzeiler ist der perfekte Begleiter zu Wildgerichten, dunklem Fleisch und Käse. Jüngere Jahrgänge sollten wenige Stunden vor dem Genuss geöffnet oder dekantiert werden.

Point

1570 erfolgte die erste urkundliche Erwähnung der Riede Point. Seit 1848 besitzt die Familie Kollwentz Weingärten in dieser ehemals herrschaftlichen Lage der Esterházy. In dieser reinen Südlage bringt der Blaufränkisch auf kalkhaltigem Lehmboden Jahr für Jahr eine kleine Ernte an charaktervollem, extraktreichem Wein. Dieser besondere Blaufränkisch besticht durch seine schöne Brombeerfrucht und kräftige Würze. Er ist der universelle Begleiter zu Pasteten und Fleischgerichten. Jüngere Jahrgänge sollten wenige Stunden vor dem Genuss geöffnet oder dekantiert werden.

Setz

Die erstmals 1570 urkundlich erwähnte „Krapflried“, im Volksmund schlicht „Setz“ genannt, schliesst in Richtung Kleinhöflein an die Grosshöfleiner Rieden an. Die nach Südosten gerichtete „Setz“ geniesst von den frühen Morgenstunden bis zum späten Nachmittag vollen Sonnenschein. Die Blaufränkischtrauben erreichen in der „Setz“ die höchsten Reifegrade. Dieser besondere Blaufränkisch unseres Gutes besticht durch saftige Kirschen- und Lakritzearomatik sowie kräftigen Gewürznoten. Er ist der ideale Begleiter gegrilltem Fleisch. Jüngere Jahrgänge sollten wenige Stunden vor dem Genuss geöffnet oder zu dekantiert werden.

Dürr

1570 erfolgte die erste urkundliche Erwähnung der Riede Dürr. Durch die Höhenlage der Riede Dürr und die Kühle des umliegenden Waldes gelangen die Pinot Noir-Trauben langsam zu voller Reife. Ausgeprägte Mineralität und Finesse prägen den Charakter dieses auf Muschelkalkboden gewachsenen Pinot‘s.

Cabernet Sauvignon

Cabernet Sauvignon ist die weltweit meistverbreitete Rotweinrebe. Im pannonischen Klima des Burgenlandes reift er zu höchster Qualität. Bei einem Ertrag von knapp 30 hl pro ha entsteht ein extraktreicher, eleganter Wein, der in kleinen Eichenfässern ausgebaut wird. Dieser Cabernet entwickelt einen imponierenden Cassisduft mit zartem Vanilleflair und erreicht seine optimale Trinkreife nach fünf bis sieben Jahren. Der Cabernet Sauvignon ist der perfekte Begleiter zu Wild, Rindfleisch und Käse. Jüngere Jahrgänge sollten wenige Stunden vor dem Genuss geöffnet oder dekantiert werden.

Eichkogel

Der Eichkogel ist eine Cuvée aus den Grosshöfleiner Traditionssorten Blaufränkisch (70%) und Zweigelt (30%). Im pannonischen Klima des Burgenlandes reifen die Trauben am Südhang des Leithagebirges zu höchster Qualität. Ausgebaut in kleinen Eichenfässern verbindet der Eichkogel die würzige Beerenfrucht des Blaufränkisch mit der Samtigkeit des Zweigelt. Der Eichkogel passt hervorragend zu kräftigen Fleischspeisen wie Lamm und Steaks. Jüngere Jahrgänge sollten wenige Stunden vor dem Genuss geöffnet oder dekantiert werden.

Blaufränkisch Leithagebirge

Blaufränkisch ist die traditionsreiche Rotweinrebe des Burgenlandes. Im pannonischen Klima reift der Blaufränkisch an den Südhängen des Leithagebirges auf kalkhaltigen Lehmböden zu höchster Qualität. Nach seinem Ausbau in Eichenfässern wird er ungefiltert in Flaschen gefüllt. Dieser Blaufränkisch besticht durch seine schöne Beerenfrucht und elegante Würze.

Zweigelt Föllikberg

Die Zweigelt-Rebe ist eine Kreuzung von Blaufränkisch und St. Laurent. Sie wurde 1922 von ihrem späteren Namensgeber Professor Zweigelt gezüchtet. Der Zweigelt ist die einzige Neuzüchtung, die sich durch ihre hohe Qualität einen Platz in der österreichischen Rebenlandschaft sichern konnte. Durch seine elegante Art und sein feines Weichselaroma lässt sich der Zweigelt schon im Jahr nach der Ernte angenehm trinken. Er ist der ideale Begleiter zu Grillgerichten, Schweine- und Lammfleisch.

Kategorie
Wein
X