The GlenAllachie Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky

The GlenAllachie Distillery was established in 1967. It was built by W. Delmé Evans for Mackinlay-McPherson Ltd, a wine merchants company that was then already running Isle of Jura and Tullibardine. In 1985, it briefly became the property of the Invergordon Distillery who, however, never started production during its period of ownership. After four years, Invergordon sold the operation to Campbell Distillers, who at that time already belonged to Pernod Ricard. Through this acquisition, the group, which at that time was still small, was able to almost double its capacity. During these years production was mostly for blends, and being a single malt, it was distributed almost exclusively by independent bottlers. The surprise happened in mid-July 2017: Billy Walker (former joint owner of BenRiach, GlenDronach and Glenglassaugh), Trisha Savage and Graham Stevenson bought the distillery from Pernod Ricard.

In an age of fusions and consolidations, Billy Walker and his team bucked the trend and gave GlenAllachie its independence back. The acquisition of the GlenAllachie Distillery from Pernod Ricard (the second-largest drinks company worldwide) is unprecedented, and returns the distillery to the status of being a truly independent, 100% Scottish company once again.

At 50 years of age GlenAllachie may not be the oldest distillery in Speyside, but with Billy Walker at the helm, and with an extraordinary range of casks going all the way back to 1970, the future of this distillery looks very exciting.

At present, about 100 casks are being filled every week. These are first filled with a variety of strengths of alcohol (63.5%, 68%, 72%) and then aged in the following proportions: 50% in first fill bourbon barrels, 30% in ex-sherry casks and 20% in a variety of other casks (American/European oak, virgin oak, port, marsala, moscatel, barolo, etc.). They are subsequently stored in one of the 16 warehouses (2 dunnage / 10 racked for barrels / 10 racked for butts / 2 pallets) which GlenAllachie has at its disposal.

GlenAllachie believes that age specifications are still important. This conviction, combined with the ability to make use of an inventory which goes back to the 1970s forms the basis of the Core Range, which is available from July 2018.

All whisky is produced without colourings, without chill filtering and are bottled at 46 % ABV. The details are as follows:

10 Year Old Cask Strength Batch 1 / 57.1%
Batch 1 is limited to 12000 bottles worldwide and blends whisky which has been aged in American oak, Pedro Ximenez, oloroso and virgin oak casks.

12 Year Old / 46%
Not limited. The flagship of the series. Pedro Ximenez, oloroso and virgin oak casks.

18 Year Old / 46%
Annual production of 6000 bottles. American oak, Pedro Ximenez and oloroso casks.

25 Year Old / 48%
Annual production of 4000 bottles. American oak, Pedro Ximenez and oloroso casks.

Individual casks and other limited bottlings are planned for the future.

Category
Whisky
X

The GlenAllachie Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky

La distillerie GlenAllachie entra en service en 1967, bâtie par W. Delmé Evans pour le compte de Mackinlay McPherson, les fondateurs d’Isle of Jura et de Tullibardine. En 1985, Invergordon reprit brièvement l’exploitation, mais la production ne démarra jamais durant cette période. Après quatre ans, elle fut vendue à Campbell Distillers qui appartenaient alors déjà à Pernod Ricard. Cette acquisition permit au groupe de taille encore modeste de presque doubler sa capacité. Durant ces années, la production servit avant tout à alimenter les blended whiskies. Les single malts qui entrèrent sur le marché furent presque exclusivement produits par des embouteilleurs indépendants. Mi-juillet 2017, ce fut la surprise : Billy Walker (ancien copropriétaire de BenRiach, GlenDronach et Glenglassaugh), Trisha Savage et Graham Stevenson rachètent la distillerie à Pernod Ricard.

À une époque où la tendance était aux fusions et aux consolidations, Billy Walker et son équipe sont allés à contre-courant et ont rendu à GlenAllachie son indépendance. L’acquisition de la GlenAllachie Distillery de Pernod Ricard (la seconde entreprise de boissons sur le marché mondial) est sans précédent et permet à la distillerie de redevenir une entreprise véritablement indépendante et 100% écossaise.

Avec ses 50 ans, GlenAllachie n’est peut-être pas la plus ancienne distillerie de Speyside, mais avec Billy Walker à sa tête et un choix exceptionnel de fûts remontant jusqu’aux années 1970, l’avenir de cette distillerie s’avère plutôt prometteur.

Actuellement, environ 100 fûts sont remplis chaque semaine. La mise en fût se fait avec de l’alcool à diverses concentrations (63,5%, 68%, 72%) et se compose à 50% de barriques 1st Fill Bourbon Barrels, 30% de fûts ex-sherry et 20% de fûts divers (chêne américain/européen, Virgin Oak, Port, Marsala, Moscatel, Barolo, etc.). Ils sont ensuite stockés dans l’un des 16 entrepôts (2 bois de calage / 10 racks pour barriques / 10 racks pour tonneaux / 2 palettes) dont dispose GlenAllachie.

GlenAllachie pense que les indications d’âge restent importantes. Cette conviction et la possibilité d’accéder à un stock remontant aux années 70 est la base de la Core Range, qui est disponible depuis juillet 2018.

Tous les whiskies sont mis en bouteille sans colorants, sans filtration à froid et à min. 46 % vol. Les détails se présentent comme suit :

10 years old Cask Strength Batch 1 / 57,1%
Batch 1 est limité à 12000 bouteilles au niveau mondial et réunit des whiskies vieillis en fûts de chêne américain, Pedro Ximenez, Oloroso et Virgin Oak.

12 years old / 46%
Non limité et fleuron de la série. Fûts Pedro Ximenez, Oloroso et Virgin Oak.

18 years old / 46%
6000 bouteilles produites annuellement. Fûts de chêne américain, Pedro Ximenez et Oloroso.

25 years old / 48%
4000 bouteilles produites annuellement. Fûts de chêne américain, Pedro Ximenez et Oloroso.

D’autres éditions limitées de mises en fût et de mises en bouteilles sont planifiées pour le futur.

Categorie
Whisky
X