Weingut Kollwentz Burgenland Austria

Kollwentz Winery – Römerhof
Grosshöflein, Burgenland

A Vintner Dynasty

When a vineyard, such as the Kollwentz winery in Grosshöflein, has been in the family since 1775, the designation ‘dynasty’ seems appropriate. The location on the south facing slopes of the Leitha Mountains is one of the best and oldest in the country. Resounding names like Steinzeiler, Point, Dürr, Tatschler, Gloria, and Setz were mentioned as vineyard sites as early as the years 1569 and 1570. Here, the Kollwentz family maintains the vineyard concept in its purest form: their own vineyards, their own grapes, and their own wine.

Vineyards on the south facing slopes of the Leitha Mountains have been in operation since Celtic times, and they contain the earliest evidence of viniculture in central Europe. Grape seeds found in Zagersdorf have been dated to 700 B.C.

Andi Kollwentz – a decathlete among Austria’s vintners

Beginning with the 1993 vintage, Andi Kollwentz has taken over responsibilities of the cellar. Since 2004, Andi and Heidi Kollwentz are in charge of the operation of the winery.

“The location determines the type of vine” is Andi Kollwentz’s doctrine. Only under ideal conditions can vines produce grapes that reach optimal maturity – which is the basis for great wines.

Peter Moser of Falstaff Magazine adds: “Andi Kollwentz is a decathlete among Austria’s vintners because he has mastered a broad range of disciplines and ranks among the top vintners in every wine category, whether white, red, or sweet.”

White Wines

At the Kollwentz winery, the Chardonnay grape vine is the most prevalent among the white varieties. Its cultivation was predestined by nature with a broad selection of soils and locations: Tatschler, Gloria, Neusatz, Kreuzweingärten, Perisch, and Torwartl.

Chardonnay is a venerable variety that has been cultivated in the area around Lake Neusiedl for more than 100 years. Locations around the world that produce the best Chardonnay wines have one feature in common: limestone. The Leitha Mountains are thus part of an illustrious group of wine regions that includes the Champagne, the Chablis, and the Côte d‘Or (Burgundy).

Tatschler

The first documented mention of the Tatschler vineyard dates from 1570. Cultivated on the southeastern, wind-protected slopes of the Leitha Mountains, the Chardonnay ripens to the highest quality on weathered limestone and slate soils. Fermented and aged in small oak barrels, the wine is captivating with its full aroma of fruit, its robust flavor, and elegance. Chardonnay Tatschler is a sophisticated and versatile accompaniment to a variety of dishes. It is best paired with seafood or shellfish, pasta, and white meat.

Gloria

First records of the Gloria vineyard, the highest elevation vineyard of the Leitha Mountains, date from 1570. The cooler temperatures of the bordering forest and the meager quality of the shell limestone soil result in a slower and longer ripening process of the grapes. A distinct mineral quality and finesse characterize this wine. Chardonnay Gloria goes well with seafood and shellfish, as well as pasta dishes.

Chardonnay Leitha Mountains / from the vineyards

Since time immemorial, Burgenland has been the home of Chardonnay, also known as Klevner. The best wines are produced from soils rich in limestone, and these can be found in the Leitha Mountains. Combined with the Pannonian climate, the region produces a full-bodied, elegant wine with a delicate hint of spice. The Chardonnay is ideally paired with shellfish, fish, and white meat.

Steinmühle (Stone Mill) Sauvignon blanc

Sauvignon blanc is a venerable variety in Burgenland. It is considered to be the most challenging grape vine in general, and is particularly sensitive to location. It does best in igneous rock soils like flint/silex, and these can be found in the Steinmühle vineyard site. The soil, in combination with the Pannonian climate of Burgenland, produces expressive and striking wines. Only a handful of our own grape vines are used to propagate the Sauvignon blanc to ensure its high quality and unadulterated character. The full aroma of this Sauvignon ranges from bell peppers, over elderberry blossoms, to passion fruit. It is best paired with seafood dishes, asparagus, and white meat.

Red Wines

True to tradition, Blaufränkisch and Zweigelt dominate the cultivation of red wine in Burgenland. At the Kollwentz winery, the venerable variety, Blaufränkisch, grows in the historic vineyard sites of ‘Point’ and ‘Setz’. They are bottled as single vineyard wines, and, due to their robust flavors and spiciness, also form the backbone of the top cuvée ‘Steinzeiler’. Wine pioneer Anton Kollwentz was instrumental in the propagation of Zweigelt in Burgenland, and was the first vintner to cultivate Cabernet Sauvignon in Austria.

Steinzeiler

Steinzeiler was named after the rocky, limestone-rich soils of the southern slopes of the Leitha Mountains. Grape vines have been growing in these locations for 2800 years. Steinzeiler –vinified from 60 – 80 % Blaufränkisch from the vineyard sites of Point and Setz, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Zweigelt – is a robust red wine with elegance and charm from meticulously maintained, old grape vines. Steinzeiler is the perfect accompaniment to wild game, dark meat, and cheese. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Point

1570 marks the first recorded mention of the vineyard, Point. The Kollwentz family has owned this parcel of the former estate of the Hungarian noble family, Esterházy, since 1848.

Directly south facing slopes, coupled with calcareous loamy soils, produce a small harvest of Blaufränkisch that is full of character and rich in extracts year after year. This special Blaufränkisch is captivating through its wonderful blackberry fruit aroma and robust spiciness. It is the universal accompaniment to pâtés and meat dishes. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Setz

The vineyard site, ‘Krapflried’ which had its first entry in manuscripts dated from 1570, is commonly referred to as ‘Setz’. Stretching into the direction of Kleinhöflein, it borders the vineyards of Grosshöflein. In light of its southeastern facing slopes, the vineyard enjoys full sun from early morning until late afternoon. In the ‘Setz’ vineyard, Blaufränkisch grapes attain optimal ripeness. This special Blaufränkisch of the Kollwentz estate impresses with its fine cherry and licorice aroma, as well as its robust spice tones. It is best paired with grilled meats. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Dürr

The first documented mention of the ‘Dürr’ vineyard site also dates back to 1570. Given the elevation of the vineyard and the cooler temperatures generated by the surrounding forest, Pinot Noir grapes cultivated here reach their maturity through a slow ripening process. A distinct mineral quality and finesse characterize this Pinot grown in shell limestone soil.

Cabernet Sauvignon

Cabernet Sauvignon is the most widely distributed grape vine for red wine in the world. The Pannonian climate of the Burgenland ensures that it attains the highest quality. With a yield of approximately 30 hectoliters per hectare, the result is an elegant wine rich in extract. The wine is aged in small oak barrels and attains its optimal drinkability after five to seven years. This Cabernet develops an impressive bouquet of cassis with a soft hint of vanilla. Cabernet Sauvignon is the perfect accompaniment to wild game, beef, and cheese. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Eichkogel

Eichkogel is a cuvée made from the traditional Grosshöflein varieties of Blaufränkisch (70%) and Zweigelt (30%). In the Pannonian climate of the Burgenland, the grapes on the south facing slopes of the Leitha Mountains ripen to the highest degree and quality. Matured in small oak barrels, the Eichkogel combines the spicy berry aroma of the Blaufränkisch with the velvety smoothness of the Zweigelt. Eichkogel is an excellent choice for flavorful meat dishes like lamb or steaks. Younger vintages should be opened or decanted just a few hours prior to serving.

Blaufränkisch Leitha Mountains

Blaufränkisch is the celebrated grape vine for the red wine of Burgenland. Grown in the Pannonian climate and in limestone-containing loamy soils of the Leitha Mountains, the Blaufränkisch attains the highest quality. After it has been aged in oak barrels, it is bottled unfiltered. This Blaufränkisch has a captivating aroma of berry and elegant spice.

Zweigelt Föllikberg

Zweigelt is a hybrid of Blaufränkisch and St. Laurent. It was first cultivated in 1922 by its namesake, Professor Zweigelt. On account of its high quality, Zweigelt is the only new variety that has been able to secure its place among Austria’s vine specialties. With its elegant character and sour cherry aroma, Zweigelt can be enjoyed as early as the year following harvest. It is ideally paired with grilled dishes, pork, and lamb.

Category
Wine

Weingut Kollwentz Burgenland Autriche

Domaine viticole Kollwentz – Römerhof
Grosshöflein, Burgenland

Une dynastie de viticulteurs

Lorsqu’un domaine viticole comme celui de la famille Kollwentz à Grosshöflein, est détenu depuis 1775 déjà par la même famille, le qualificatif de dynastie n’est pas trop fort. Les terroirs situés sur le versant sud de la montagne de la Leitha comptent parmi les plus anciens et les meilleurs du pays. Des noms renommés tels que Steinzeiler, Point, Dürr, Tatschler, Gloria et Setz sont déjà évoqués comme vignes en 1569 et 1570. La famille Kollwentz cultive ici son idée d’un domaine viticole dans sa forme la plus pure: elle dispose de son propre vignoble, de ses propres raisins ainsi que de son propre vin.

Les celtes pratiquaient déjà la viticulture sur le versant sud de la montagne de la Leitha. Les vestiges de viticulture les plus anciens en Europe centrale remontent à leur époque. Les pépins de raisin découverts à Zagersdorf datent de 700 av. J.-C.

Andi Kollwentz, le décathlonien des viticulteurs autrichiens.

Andi Kollwentz a pris les rênes de la cave en 1993. Andi et Heidi Kollwentz sont à la tête du vignoble depuis 2004.

«Le terroir détermine le choix du cépage» est le credo d’Andi Kollwentz. Dans de telles conditions idéales, les cépages réussissent à produire des raisins d’une maturité optimale. Ils constituent la base indispensable à de grands vins.

Peter Moser du magazine Falststaff constate à ce sujet: «Andi Kollwentz est le décathlonien des viticulteurs autrichiens car il excelle dans les disciplines les plus diverses et figure parmi les meilleurs dans toutes les catégories, qu’il s’agisse de vins blancs, rouges ou doux».

Les vins blancs

Parmi les variétés de vins blancs du domaine Kollwentz, le cépage Chardonnay domine naturellement. La grande variété de sols et de terroirs est idéale pour sa culture. Tatschler, Gloria, Neusatz, Kreuzweingärten, Perisch et Torwartl raviront votre palais.

Le Chardonnay est un cépage ancien, cultivé depuis plus de 100 ans dans la région entourant le lac de Neusiedl. Dans le monde, partout où le cépage Chardonnay produit les meilleurs vins, on retrouve du calcaire. Ainsi c’est un point commun que la montagne de la Leitha partage avec d’illustres vignobles de la Champagne, de Chablis et de la Côte d’Or (Bourgogne).

Tatschler

La première mention du vignoble Taschler remonte à 1570. Dans ce vignoble abrité du vent et bénéficiant d’une exposition sud-est sur la montagne de la Leitha, le Chardonnay de première qualité mûrit sur un sol calcaire d’ardoise décomposée. Il est fermenté et vieilli dans de petits fûts en chêne. Il se caractérise par des arômes de fruits mûrs, de la puissance et de l’élégance. Le Chardonnay Tatschler est un vin noble et polyvalent, accompagnant à merveille les produits de la mer et les crustacés, aussi bien que les plats de pâtes et les viandes blanches.

Gloria

La première mention du vignoble Gloria remonte à 1570. C’est le plus haut vignoble de la montagne de la Leitha. Ce Chardonnay parvient lentement à pleine maturité sur un sol calcaire conchylien aride grâce à la fraîcheur de la forêt environnante. Ce vin se caractérise par sa minéralité prononcée et sa finesse. Le Chardonnay Gloria accompagne idéalement les produits de la mer et les crustacés, ainsi que les plats de pâtes.

Chardonnay de la montagne de la Leitha / des vignobles

Le Chardonnay est présent depuis toujours dans le Burgenland, sous la forme de Klevener. À travers le monde, sur des sols calcaires, il fournit les meilleurs vins. Il trouve ces sols calcaires sur la montagne de la Leitha. L’association à un climat pannonique donne naissance à un vin ample et élégant aux notes épicées. Le Chardonnay accompagne à merveille les crustacés, poissons et viandes blanches.

Steinmühle Sauvignon blanc

Le Sauvignon blanc est un cépage présent depuis longtemps dans Burgenland. Il s’agit du cépage le plus difficile de tous à cultiver. Il a des exigences particulières en termes d’emplacement. Il pousse très bien sur les sols arides contenant des silex. Le Sauvignon blanc trouve ce sol sur le Steinmühle et y produit des vins expressifs et charpentés grâce au climat pannonique du Burgenland. Le Sauvignon blanc continue de se multiplier à partir d’un petit nombre de ses propres vignes uniquement, afin de garantir authentique sa haute qualité. La palette aromatique de ce Sauvignon s’étend des poivrons aux fruits de la passion, en passant par les fleurs de sureau. Il accompagne idéalement les plats de poisson, les asperges et les viandes blanches.

Les vins rouges

Traditionnellement, le Blaufränkisch et le Zweigelt prédominent parmi les vins rouges produits au Burgenland. Le cépage ancien Blaufränkisch se trouve dans les vignobles historiques «Point» et «Setz» du domaine Kollwentz. Ils sont d’une part mis en bouteille comme vins de terroir et forment également l’épine dorsale de la Cuvée spéciale «Steinzeiler», grâce à leur caractère puissant et épicé. Anton Kollwentz, pionnier de la viticulture, a soutenu activement la diffusion du Zweigelt dans le Burgenland et fut le premier à cultiver le Cabernet Sauvignon en Autriche.

Steinzeiler

Le Steinzeiler doit son nom aux sols calcaires rocailleux du versant sud de la montagne de la Leitha. Des vignes poussent sur ces terroirs depuis 2 800 ans. Le Steinzeiler, élaboré à partir de 60 à 80 % de Blaufränkisch des vignobles Point et Setz, de Cabernet Sauvignon et de Zweigelt, est un vin rouge puissant, élégant et charmant issu de vignes cultivées avec amour. Le Steinzeiler se boit parfaitement avec les plats de gibier, les viandes rouges et le fromage. Il est recommandé d’ouvrir ou de décanter les millésimes plus jeunes quelques heures avant dégustation.

Point

La première mention du vignoble Point remonte à 1570. Depuis 1848, la famille Kollwentz possède des vignobles dans ce terroir noble ayant autrefois appartenu à la famille Esterházy. Dans ce terroir exposé plein sud sur un sol argilo-calcaire, le Blaufränkisch fournit année après année une petite récolte pour un vin de caractère, très riche. Ce Blaufränkisch spécifique se distingue par ses beaux arômes de mûre et ses notes épicées puissantes. Il accompagne à merveille les pâtés et les plats de viande. Il est recommandé d’ouvrir ou de décanter les millésimes plus jeunes quelques heures avant dégustation.

Setz

Le vignoble «Krapflried», mentionné pour la première fois en 1570, appelé simplement «Setz» dans le langage populaire, rejoint les vignobles de Grosshöflein en direction de Kleinhöflein. Le vignoble «Setz», exposé sud-est, bénéficie d’un ensoleillement optimal, des premières heures du matin jusqu’à tard dans l’après-midi. Dans le vignoble «Setz», les raisins du cépage Blaufränkisch atteignent les degrés de maturité les plus élevés. Ce Blaufränkisch spécifique à notre domaine se distingue par ses arômes de cerises juteuses et ses notes épicées puissantes. Il accompagne à merveille les viandes grillées. Il est recommandé d’ouvrir ou de décanter les millésimes plus jeunes quelques heures avant dégustation.

Dürr

La première mention du vignoble Dürr remonte à 1570. Grâce à l’altitude du vignoble Dürr et la fraîcheur de la forêt environnante, les raisins de Pinot noir parviennent lentement à pleine maturité. Ce Pinot noir ayant poussé sur un sol calcaire conchylien se caractérise par sa minéralité prononcée et sa finesse.

Cabernet-Sauvignon

Le Cabernet-Sauvignon est le cépage rouge le plus répandu dans le monde. Grâce au climat pannonique du Burgenland, il mûrit pour atteindre la plus haute qualité. Avec un rendement de 30 hl par hectare, naît un vin très riche et élégant, élevé dans de petits fûts de chênes. Ce Cabernet développe un arôme de cassis impressionnant ainsi qu’un arôme de vanille délicat. Il est bon à consommer dans les 5 à 7 ans. Le Cabernet-Sauvignon accompagne à merveille le gibier, la viande de bœuf et le fromage. Il est recommandé d’ouvrir ou de décanter les millésimes plus jeunes quelques heures avant dégustation.

Eichkogel

Le Eichkogel est une cuvée élaborée à partir des cépages traditionnels de Grosshöflein: le Blaufränkisch (70 %) et Zweigelt (30 %). Grâce au climat pannonique du Burgenland, les raisins mûrissent sur le versant sud de la montagne de la Leitha pour atteindre la plus haute qualité. Vieilli dans de petits fûts en chêne, le Eichkogel allie les arômes de baies épicés du Blaufränkisch au caractère velouté du Zweigelt. Le Eichkogel s’accorde à merveille avec les plats de viande corsée tels que l’agneau et les steaks. Il est recommandé d’ouvrir ou de décanter les millésimes plus jeunes quelques heures avant dégustation.

Blaufränkisch Leithagebirge

Blaufränkisch est le cépage rouge traditionnel du Burgenland. Grâce au climat pannonique du Burgenland, le Blaufränkisch mûrit sur le sol argilo-calcaire du versant sud de la montagne de la Leitha, pour atteindre la plus haute qualité. Après son élevage en fûts de chêne, il est mis en bouteille sans filtration. Ce Blaufränkisch se distingue par ses beaux arômes de mûre et ses notes épicées élégantes.

Zweigelt Föllikberg

Le cépage Zweigelt est un croisement entre le Blaufränkisch et le Saint-Laurent. Il a été cultivé en 1922 par le professeur Zweigelt, qui lui donna son nom quelque temps plus tard. Le Zweigelt est le seul nouveau croisement à avoir pu s’assurer une place à travers les vignes autrichiennes grâce à sa haute qualité. Du fait de son caractère élégant et de la finesse de sa diversité aromatique, le Zweigelt est déjà agréable à boire l’année suivant sa récolte. Il accompagne à merveille les grillades, la viande de porc et d’agneau.

Categorie
Vin
X