Dolin Vermouth

A bit of history…

 

1815: Joseph Chavasse, liquorist

At 25 years old, Joseph Chavasse created a liqueur-distillery at les Echelles in the province of Mont Blanc. The mountains overlooking his birth place were a wonderful alpine garden where he could find the plants he needed to create the liqueurs he had invented. The names he gave them were tempting and evocative, such as Elixir d’Amour (Elixir of Love), Parfait Amour (Perfect Love), Amour sans fin (Endless Love), Eau d’Or (Golden Water), Absinthe Blanche (White Absinthe) and Crème Royale (Royal Cordial).

1821: Joseph Chavasse invented a new Vermouth

Inspired by aperitifs in the neighbouring Turin, Joseph Chavasse created a new vermouth with a recipe known to him alone. He set a wide variety of plants from the surrounding mountains to infuse in Savoyard white wine and added a selection of spices. Fully qualified as a liquorist he settled in Chambéry in 1830, where his daughter Marie Rosalie was born. He then put all his energy into making vermouth.

1843: Louis-Ferdinand Dolin, Vermouth maker

Son and grandson of lawyers from Chambéry, Louis-Ferdinand Dolin married Marie Rosalie Chavasse at 29 years old and became a vermouth maker. He gave his name to the company and the brand; where it is still used today.

1876: Philadelphia – a gold medal for Dolin Vermouth

When Louis-Ferdinand Dolin died in 1869. His wife took over the vermouth distillery and presented Dolin vermouth at the Philadelphia Centennial Exhibition in 1876 where it was awarded a gold medal. Many other awards were added to the medal table, including a silver medal at the World’s Fair in Paris in 1900.

1919: Charles and Joseph Sevez, descendants of the Dolin family

Charles and Joseph Sevez sold groceries and foodstuffs in Chambéry. They bought the vermouth distillery from the Dolin family in 1919 as there were no Dolin heirs to inherit the business. They kept the brand name and continued to pass on the expertise from past generations.

1945-1975: Pierre, Bernard et Jean Louis Sevez, Vermouth maker

When he was released from captivity in 1945 after the Second World War, Pierre Sevez took over the company. In 1975 production moved to new premises in Chambéry-Bissy. In the same year, Pierre’s sons, Bernard and Jean Louis took over from him and developed the French and European markets.

 

The products

 

Le Vermouth Dry

17.5% ABV, 100% Ugni-Blanc, 17 wild herbs and spices, 25 grams of sugar per litre

Very pale crystalline robe, tinged with gold. Generous, full, intense nose of citrus peel, underscored by menthol and balsamic notes. Aromas of mountain plants linger on finish. Velvety texture with harmonious aromas of almond and fruit pit. Slightly bitter citrus base underlies and balances this elegant, lively vermouth with subtle persistence.

Le Vermouth Rouge

16% ABV, 100% Ugni-Blanc, 35 wild herbs and spices, 130 grams of sugar per litre

Brilliant amber robe with glints of copper. Very pleasant nose of fruit compote, prune and walnut, with a slightly grassy note tempered by the spicy notes of cinnamon, vanilla and Szechwan pepper. On the palate complex aromas of almond and fruit pit, citrus, pear and cinnamon, with notes of spice cake and tobacco, then violet, oregano and hyssop. A subtle base of bitterness underlies this rich bouquet.

Le Vermouth Blanc

16% ABV, 100% Ugni-Blanc, 33 wild herbs and spices, 130 grams of sugar per litre

Brilliant, limpid, fluid robe. Complex nose of mountain plants which have been rubbed to release their aromas, camphor then citrus. On palate, beautifully harmonious plant notes and a silky texture. Aromas of flowering broom and elderberry which give way to fresh almond and peach.

Category
Aperitif
X

Dolin Wermut

Ein bisschen Geschichte…

 

1815: Joseph Chavasse, liqueuriste

Im Alter von 25 Jahre gründete Joseph Chavasse eine Likör-Distillerie in Echelles, in der Provinz Mont Blanc. Die umliegenden Alpen waren sein Garten, wo er alle Zutaten für seine Likör-Kreationen fand. Diesen gab er klingende Namen wie Elixir d’Amour (Liebeselexir), Parfait Amour (Perfekte Liebe), Amour sans fin (Endlose Liebe), Eau d’Or (Goldwasser), Absinthe Blanche (Weisser Absinthe) und Crème Royale (Königlicher Likör).

1821: Joseph Chavasse erfindet einen neuen Wermut

Inspiriert von den Aperitifs aus der Nachbarstadt Turin, kreiert Joseph Chavasse einen neuen Wermut. Das Rezept blieb vorerst sein Geheimnis. Er mazerierte eine bestimmte Anzahl wilder Kräuter und Gewürze aus den umliegenden Alpen in Weisswein aus der Region. 1830 zügelte er seine Likör-Distillerie nach Chambéry, wo seine Tochter Marie Rosalie auf die Welt kam. Er steckte nun seine gesamte Energie in die Herstellung von Wermut.

1843: Louis-Ferdinand Dolin, Wermut-Hersteller

Der Sohn und Enkel von Anwälten aus Chambéry, Louis-Ferdinand Dolin heiratete Marie Rosalie Chavasse als er 29 Jahre alt war. Er stieg in die Firma seines Schwiegervaters ein und gab dieser und den Produkten von nun an seinen Namen; welcher bis heute benutzt wird.

1876: Philadelphia – eine Goldmedaille für Dolin Wermut

Nachdem Louis-Ferdinand Dolin 1869 verstarb übernahm seine Frau die Distillerie und präsentierte den Dolin Wermut and der “Philadelphia Centennial Exhibition” von 1876. Prompt wurde der Wermut mit einer Goldmedaille ausgezeichnet. Nur der Anfang vieler folgender Auszeichnung, darunter auch eine Silbermedaille an der Weltausstellung von Paris 1900.

1919: Charles and Joseph Sevez, Nachkommen der Dolin Familie

Charles und Joseph Sevez verkauften Lebensmittel in Chambéry. 1919 kauften sie die Wermut Destillerie von der Familie Dolin, da diese keine Nachkommen hatte, die das Geschäft hätten erben und weiterführen können. Der Markenname wurde beibehalten und so konnte auch das über Generationen gesammelte Wissen weiter in der Unternehmung gesichert werden.

1945-1975: Pierre, Bernard und Jean Louis Sevez, Wermut-Hersteller

Pierre Sevez geriet im Zweiten Weltkrieg in Gefangenschaft. Als er 1945 wieder frei kam übernahm er das Unternehmen. 1975 zog das Unternehmen in neue Produktionsgebäude nach Chambéry-Boissy um und gleichzeitig übernahmen Pierres Söhne Bernard und Jean Louis die Geschäftsführung. Sie entwickelten den Vertrieb in Frankreich und Europa weiter.

Die Produkte

 

Le Vermouth Dry

17.5%, 100% Ugni-Blanc, 17 wilde Kräuter und Gewürze, 25 Gramm Zucker pro Liter

Blass kristalline Robe mit goldigem Schimmer. Grosszügiger, voller und intensiver Duft nach Zitrusschalen, unterstrichen von Menthol und balsamischen Noten. Anhaltende Bergpflanzenaromen im Abgang. Samtige Textur und harmonische Aromen von Mandeln und Früchten. Leicht bittere Zitrusnoten im Abgang bilden das Rückgrat dieses lebendigen Wermuts.

Le Vermouth Rouge

16%, 100% Ugni-Blanc, 35 wilde Kräuter und Gewürze, 130 Gramm Zucker pro Liter

Leuchtende Bernsteinfarbe mit Reflexen von Kupfer. In der Nase Kompott, Pflaume und Walnuss, mit einer leichten grasigen Note. Würzige Noten von Zimt, Vanille und Szechuan-Pfeffer. Am Gaumen komplexe Aromen von Mandeln und Früchten, Zitrusnoten, Birnen und Zimt, Noten von Lebkuchen und Tabak, dann Veilchen, Oregano und Ysop. Eine subtile Bitterkeit bildet die Basis dieses Wermuts.

Le Vermouth Blanc

16%, 100% Ugni-Blanc, 33 wilde Kräuter und Gewürze, 130 Gramm Zucker pro Liter

Brillante, klare Robe. Komplexe Nase von Bergpflanzen, freigesetzte Aromen von Kampfer und Zitrusfrüchten. Am Gaumen wunderbar harmonische Pflanzennoten und seidige Textur. Aromen von Ginster und Holunder, frischen Mandeln und Pfirsich.

 

Kategorie
Aperitif
X