Glengoyne Highland Single Malt Whisky

The distillery of Glengoyne was founded around the year 1833. In early years it carried various names like Glen Guin or Burn Foot and became today’s Glengoyne only in 1905. From 1876 to 2003 the distillery belonged to the company Lang Brothers, today is has been bought by Ian MacLeod Distillers Limited.

Lowland or Highland?

The distillery is situated in a small river valley close to Loch Lomond. Only 20 kilometers north of Glasgow, Glengoyne but barely belongs to the Highlands. The former distilleries of Inverleven und Littlemill close to Glengoyne were already considered to be part of the Lowlands.

Light and Aromatic

Unlike most other single malts Glengoyne has been preserving the essence of its flavour for decades by using air-dried barley rather than barley dried using harsh peat smoke. The result is a more subtle, complex whisky in which all of the delicate flavours are freely allowed to express themselves. Glengoyne whiskies are ingredients of many scottish blends, for example The Famous Grouse, Cutty Sark, and the blends of Lang.

A new era begins

In October 2012 Glengoyne presented its new core range and packaging. The range now consists of the follwing expressions: Cask Strength, 10 years old, 12 years old, 15 years old, 18 years old and 21 years old.

Since spring 2014 the core range a 25 years old was added to the core range. This outstanding Whisky comes in a very luxurious packaging.

Category
Whisky
X

Glengoyne Highland Single Malt Whisky

Die Glengoyne-Destillerie wurde wohl schon um das Jahr 1833 gegründet. In frühen Jahren trug die Destillerie unterschiedliche Namen wie Glen Guin oder Burn Foot und wurde erst 1905 zum heutigen Glengoyne. Von 1876 bis 2003 gehörte die Glengoyne Destillerie der Firma Lang Brothers. Inzwischen hat die Gruppe Ian MacLeod Distillers Limited Glengoyne gekauft.

Lowland oder Highland?

Die Brennerei liegt in einem kleinen Flusstal unweit des Loch Lomond. Nur etwa 20 Kilometer nördlich von Glasgow gelegen, gehört Glengoyne nur noch knapp zu den Highlands. Die früher nächstgelegenen Brennereien Inverleven und Littlemill gehörten bereits zu den Lowlands.

Leicht und aromatisch

Glengoyne ist die einzige schottische Destillerie, die nur ungetorftes Malz verwendet. Ihre Whiskys sind leicht und dennoch sehr aromatisch — eine Kombination, die sicher auch aus der unmittelbaren Nähe zu den Lowlands resultiert. Die Glengoyne-Whiskys sind Bestandteil verschiedener schottischer Blends. Sie finden sich unter anderem in The Famous Grouse, Cutty Sark und in den Blends von Lang.

Eine neue Ära beginnt

Im Oktober 2012 präsentiert Glengoyne die neue Core Range und die neue Verpackung. Neu besteht das Angebot aus: Cask Strength, 10 years old, 12 years old, 15 years old, 18 years old und 21 years old.

Seit Frühling 2014 wurde die Core Range um einen 25 years old ergänzt. Dieser edle Whisky kommt in einer aufwendig verarbeitete Verpackung.

Kategorie
Whisky
X