Chairman’s Reserve Rum

Finest Saint Lucia Rum

Chronicles of Heritage

The Barnard family first settled in St. Lucia in the 1930’s and established their distillery by making rum from the molasses produced by the island’s massive sugar plantations. Due to the rise of the European sugar beet, the local sugar industry was forced into extinction. This lead to negative effects on the island’s growing rum trade. With few choices remaining, the last two distilleries formed a joint venture and consolidated their operations to the picturesque Roseau Valley, creating what is known today as St. Lucia Distillers. With this history behind him, Laurie Barnard took it upon himself to restore St. Lucia’s rum providence and created Chairman’s Reserve, which has re-established the prestige of St. Lucia’s rum culture. Since 2016 St. Lucia Distillers is owned by the Martinique-based Groupe Bernard Hayot (also owner of rums Clément and J.M.).

Craftsmanship

Since the last sugar plantation in St. Lucia closed in the 1960’s, extinguishing the previous source of molasses, St. Lucia Distillers has sourced rich molasses from British Guyana. With a long-standing commitment to only use Guyanese molasses, and the small capacity of the distillery; Chairman’s Reserve is predicated on top quality and distinction. Having multiple vats of molasses with various yeast strains, and the diversity of a two column still and a variety of pot stills, the distiller and master blender have superb opportunities to craft a wide spectrum of enchanting flavors. This has made Chairman’s Reserve an absolute “must-have” rum.

The Spirit of Saint Lucia

A genuine, natural landscape of gorgeous palm-fringed beaches, miles of unspoiled rainforest and the majestic Piton Mountains, are sure to indulge every taste. Natural waterfalls, breath-taking views, friendly locals and authentic culture impress the most travelled individuals for a holiday with lasting memories.

Category
Rum
X

Chairman’s Reserve Rum

Finest Saint Lucia Rum

Chronik eines reichen Erbes

Die Barnard-Familie liess sich in den 1930er Jahren auf St. Lucia nieder und gründete ihre Rumbrennerei. Diese stellte Rums aus Melasse der riesigen Zuckerplantagen der Insel her. Der Aufstieg der Zuckerrübe für die Zuckerproduktion in Europa war gleichzeitig der Untergang der Zuckerindustrie auf St. Lucia. Dies wiederum hatte einen negativen Einfluss auf die wachsende Rumproduktion der Insel. Als nur noch zwei Rumbrennereien übrig waren schlossen sich diese zu den heutigen St. Lucia Distillers zusammen und vereinigten ihre Produktion im malerischen Roseau Tal. Trotz dieser Widrigkeiten liess sich Laurie Barnard nicht entmutigen; er kreierte die Chairman’s Reserve, jener Rum, der bis heute für die Rumkultur auf St. Lucia steht. Seit 2016 gehört St. Lucia Distillers zur Groupe Bernard Hayot, welche ihren Hauptsitz in Martinique hat (und zu welcher auch die Rummarken Clément und J.M. gehören).

Handwerkskunst

Die letzte Zuckerplantage auf St. Lucia schloss in den 1960er Jahren. Seitdem bezieht St. Lucia Distillers ihre Melasse aus Britisch Guyana. Die selbst auferlegte Verpflichtung, nur guyanische Melasse für die Rumproduktion zu benutzen und die geringe Kapazität der Brennerei, sind der Grund für die aussergewöhnliche Qualität vom Chairman’s Reserve. In mehreren Gärbottichen wird die Melasse unter Beihilfe von verschiedenen Hefe-Stämmen vergoren. Das Destillieren findet dann entweder in einer der zwei Brennkolonnen oder in einer der verschiedenen Kupferbrennblasen statt. Der Brenner und der Master Blender haben so die Möglichkeit ein breites Spektrum an bezaubernden Aromen zu kreieren. Dies hat Chairman’s Reserve zu einem absoluten «must-have» Rum gemacht.

Der Geist von St. Lucia

Eine echte, natürliche Landschaft mit wunderschönen, von Palmen gesäumten Stränden, Kilometer unberührten Regenwalds, das majestätische Piton-Gebirge, natürliche Wasserfälle, atemberaubende Aussichten, freundliche Einheimische und die authentische Kultur machen aus St. Lucia etwas Einzigartiges und beeindrucken auch weit gereiste Menschen.

Kategorie
Rum
X