Penderyn Welsh Single Malt Whisky

At the dawn of the new millennium, a group of friends from the beautiful country of Wales set out with a simple vision. As the first Welsh distillers in more than a century, they were determined to break with convention and pledge to realize their dream.

The Faraday Still

The whisky still at Penderyn is unlike any other: a single copper pot still producing a flavorful spirit of extraordinary strength and purity. This still was invented exclusively for us by Dr David Faraday, descendent of the ground-breaking Victorian scientist, Michael Faraday.

At 92% alcohol by volume the new spirit has the highest strength of any malt Whisky; and with just one barrel produced every day, it is also exceptionally rare.

The Art of Maturation

The Penderyn house style derives uniquely from the use of two types of cask. After an initial maturation in hand-selected bourbon barrels from a single source, the Whisky is further matured in special Madeira barriques.

Fresh and Vibrant

Art and science come together at the moment when our talented young distillers, decree that a cask is ready to be bottled. Thanks to the quality of the wood, the delicate spirit rapidly develops a sophistication normally confined to much older whiskies, but to retain its freshness and vibrancy we take care not to over-mature. Reducing the strength drop by drop with our very own Brecon spring water, we bottle Penderyn Whisky without chill-filtration.

The Distillery

At Penderyn just one cask is produced per day of the finest malted barley spirit, which, when matured, is recognized worldwide as one of the finest malt whiskies. The majority of the spirit goes into cask for ageing in Penderyn’s cellars. Minute quantities are diverted to craft other award-winning products.

All exceptional whiskies bring together the crucial ingredients: the still, the wood and the water. If you take the time to read on about Penderyn’s products and process you will discover why, like Welsh gold, Penderyn Single Malt Whisky is so rare that it has to be on strict allocation to markets outside Wales. It is one of the rarest, finest and most delicate malt whiskies available.

From the time when the cooper goes into the sustainable American white oak forests to hand select trees from which our barrels are made through to the bottling line at the distillery where dedicated staff hand polish every bottle as they come off the line, the commitment to quality is uncompromising.


Penderyn Five Vodka

Merlyn Welsh Whisky Cream Liqueur

Category
Whisky

Penderyn Welsh Single Malt Whisky

Zu Beginn des neuen Jahrtausends, begann eine Gruppe von Freunden aus Wales mit der Umsetzung ihrer Vision: sie wollten mit Konventionen brechen, ihren Traum verwirklichen und die erste Brennerei seit hundert Jahren in Wales erbauen.

Der Faraday Brennapparat

Der Whisky Brennapparat bei Penderyn ist anders als alle anderen: ein einziger Kupferkessel produziert einen vollmundigen Geist von aussergewöhnlicher Stärke und Reinheit. Er wurde exklusiv für Penderyn von Dr. David Faraday, Nachkomme des bahnbrechenden viktorianischen Wissenschaftlers Michael Faraday, erfunden.

Mit 92 Vol. % ist das frische Destillat stärker als jeder andere Malt Whisky und mit nur einem produzierten Fass pro Tag ist er auch aussergewöhnlich rar.

Die Kunst der Reifung

Der Penderyn Haus-Stil basiert eindeutig auf der Verwendung von zwei Arten von Fässern. Nach einer ersten Reifung in handverlesenen Bourbon-Fässern wird der Whisky in speziellen Madeira Barriques fertig gereift.

Frisch und lebendig

Das Zusammenspiel der Handwerkskunst und Wissenschaft wird dann sichtbar, wenn die Fässer bereit zum Abfüllen sind. Dank der hohen Qualität des Holzes entwickelt der zarte Brand schnell eine Raffinesse die sonst eher auf viel ältere Whiskys zutrifft. Gleichzeitig behält er seine Frische und Lebendigkeit und es wird aufgepasst, dass es zu keiner Über-Reifung kommt. Der Whisky wird tropfenweise mit dem eigenen Brecon Quellwasser auf Trinkstärke reduziert und dann ohne Kältefiltration abgefüllt.

Die Brennerei

Bei Penderyn wird pro Tag nur ein Fass Whisky aus dem besten Malz produziert, welcher einmal gereift, als einer der besten Malt Whiskys weltweit anerkannt ist. Der grösste Teil des Neudestillats kommt in die Fässer für dessen Alterung. Kleinste Mengen werden für andere handwerklich hergestellte Produkte verwendet.

Von dem Moment an, als der Küfer die nachhaltig angebaute amerikanische Weisseiche im Wald für die Fässer wählt bis zu dem Moment als der fertige Whisky in der Abfüllanlage abgefüllt wird, wo engagierte Mitarbeiter jede Flasche von Hand polieren, gilt die kompromisslose Verpflichtung zur Qualität.

Die Whiskys

Neben dem Haus-Stil, dem Madeira Finish, werden weitere Spezialitäten hergestellt. Der Sherrywood-Finish, in Ex-Olorso-Fässern, der Islay-Finish, in Ex-Islay-Fässern und der Portwood-Finish in Ex-Portweinfässern. Daneben kommt jährlich eine Abfüllung in der Serie „The Icons of Wales“ raus. Die Icons basieren auf bedeutenden Persönlichkeiten und Gegebenheiten aus der Geschichte von Wales und sollten am Schluss 50 verschiedene Auflagen umfassen.

Eine Spezialität ist der Merlyn Cream Liqueur, hergestellt aus Penderyn’s Neudestillat und frischem Rahm.


Penderyn Five Vodka

Merlyn Welsh Whisky Cream Liqueur

Kategorie
Whisky
X