The GlenAllachie Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky

The GlenAllachie Distillery was established in 1967. It was built by W. Delmé Evans for Mackinlay-McPherson Ltd, a wine merchants company that was then already running Isle of Jura and Tullibardine. In 1985, it briefly became the property of the Invergordon Distillery who, however, never started production during its period of ownership. After four years, Invergordon sold the operation to Campbell Distillers, who at that time already belonged to Pernod Ricard. Through this acquisition, the group, which at that time was still small, was able to almost double its capacity. During these years production was mostly for blends, and being a single malt, it was distributed almost exclusively by independent bottlers. The surprise happened in mid-July 2017: Billy Walker (former joint owner of BenRiach, GlenDronach and Glenglassaugh), Trisha Savage and Graham Stevenson bought the distillery from Pernod Ricard.

In an age of fusions and consolidations, Billy Walker and his team bucked the trend and gave GlenAllachie its independence back. The acquisition of the GlenAllachie Distillery from Pernod Ricard (the second-largest drinks company worldwide) is unprecedented, and returns the distillery to the status of being a truly independent, 100% Scottish company once again.

At 50 years of age GlenAllachie may not be the oldest distillery in Speyside, but with Billy Walker at the helm, and with an extraordinary range of casks going all the way back to 1970, the future of this distillery looks very exciting.

At present, about 100 casks are being filled every week. These are first filled with a variety of strengths of alcohol (63.5%, 68%, 72%) and then aged in the following proportions: 50% in first fill bourbon barrels, 30% in ex-sherry casks and 20% in a variety of other casks (American/European oak, virgin oak, port, marsala, moscatel, barolo, etc.). They are subsequently stored in one of the 16 warehouses (2 dunnage / 10 racked for barrels / 10 racked for butts / 2 pallets) which GlenAllachie has at its disposal.

GlenAllachie believes that age specifications are still important. This conviction, combined with the ability to make use of an inventory which goes back to the 1970s forms the basis of the Core Range, which is available from July 2018.

All whisky is produced without colourings, without chill filtering and are bottled at 46 % ABV. The details are as follows:

10 Year Old Cask Strength Batch 1 / 57.1%
Batch 1 is limited to 12000 bottles worldwide and blends whisky which has been aged in American oak, Pedro Ximenez, oloroso and virgin oak casks.

12 Year Old / 46%
Not limited. The flagship of the series. Pedro Ximenez, oloroso and virgin oak casks.

18 Year Old / 46%
Annual production of 6000 bottles. American oak, Pedro Ximenez and oloroso casks.

25 Year Old / 48%
Annual production of 4000 bottles. American oak, Pedro Ximenez and oloroso casks.

Individual casks and other limited bottlings are planned for the future.

Category
Whisky
X

The GlenAllachie Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Die Destillerie GlenAllachie ging im Jahre 1967 in Betrieb. Sie wurde von W. Delmé Evans für Mackinlay McPherson gebaut, die schon Isle of Jura und Tullibardine in Betrieb nahmen. 1985 gehörte sie kurzzeitig zu Invergordon, die jedoch während ihrer Besitzerzeit die Produktion nie aufnahmen. Nach vier Jahren verkauften sie den Betrieb an Campbell Distillers, die bereits damals zu Pernod Ricard gehörten. Durch den Zukauf konnte die damals noch kleine Gruppe die Kapazität fast verdoppeln. In diesen Jahren wurde vor allem für Blends produziert und als Single Malt kam er fast ausschliesslich von unabhängigen Abfüllern auf den Markt. Mitte Juli 2017 kam dann die Überraschung: Billy Walker (ehemaliger Mitinhaber von BenRiach, GlenDronach und Glenglassaugh), Trisha Savage und Graham Stevenson kaufen Pernod Ricard die Brennerei ab.

In der Zeit von Fusionen und Konsolidierungen haben sich Billy Walker und sein Team gegen den Trend durchgesetzt und GlenAllachie wieder in die Unabhängigkeit geführt. Der Erwerb der GlenAllachie Distillery von Pernod Ricard (dem weltweit zweitgrössten Getränkeunternehmen) ist beispiellos und macht die Brennerei wieder zu einem wahrhaft unabhängigen, zu 100% schottischen Unternehmen.

GlenAllachie mag mit seinen 50 Jahren vielleicht nicht die älteste Brennerei in Speyside sein, aber mit Billy Walker an der Spitze und mit einer aussergewöhnlichen Auswahl an Fässern die bis zu 1970 zurückreichen, wird die Zukunft dieser Brennerei ziemlich spannend werden.

Aktuell werden pro Woche zirka 100 Fässer abgefüllt. Diese werden erstens mit verschiedenen Alkoholstärken (63.5%, 68%, 72%) und zweitens zu 50% in 1st Fill Bourbon Barrels, zu 30% in Ex-Sherry-Fässern und zu 20% in diversen Fässern (Amerikanische/Europäische Eiche, Virgin Oak, Port, Marsala, Moscatel, Barolo, etc.) abgefüllt. Anschliessend lagern sie in einem der 16 Lagerhäuser (2 Dunnage / 10 Racked für Barrels / 10 Racked für Butts / 2 Paletten) über die GlenAllachie verfügt.

GlenAllachie denkt, dass Altersangaben weiterhin wichtig sind. Diese Überzeugung und die Möglichkeit auf einen Lagerbestand zurückzugreifen, der bis in die 70er Jahre zurück reicht ist die Basis für die Core Range, welche ab Juli 2018 verfügbar ist.

Alle Whiskys werden ohne Farbstoff, ohne Kältefiltration und mit mindestens 46 Vol. % abgefüllt. Im Detail wie folgt:

10 years old Cask Strength Batch 1 / 57.1%
Batch 1 ist limitiert auf 12’000 Flaschen weltweit und vereint Whiskys die in Amerikanischer Eiche, Pedro Ximenez, Oloroso und Virgin Oak Fässern gelagert wurden.

12 years old / 46%
Nicht limitiert und das Flaggschiff der Serie. Pedro Ximenez, Oloroso und Virgin Oak Fässer.

18 years old / 46%
Jährlich werden 6000 Flaschen produziert. Amerikanische Eiche, Pedro Ximenez und Oloroso Fässer.

25 years old / 48%
Jährlich werden 4000 Flaschen produziert. Amerikanische Eiche, Pedro Ximenez und Oloroso Fässer.

Für die Zukunft sind Einzelfass- und weitere limitierte Abfüllungen geplant.

Kategorie
Whisky
X